Air Quality

at the

German Embassy Hanoi

Air Quality Index
...
Loading.

As the humidity is high, condensation might impact the measurements and lead to inaccurate values. The Air Quality Index is not shown.

Updated at:

Humidity:

Temperature:

Air quality index value, if the pollution continues to be like this for 24 hours.

Air Quality Index

The Air Quality Index, or AQI, informs about the health impacts of the current air quality. The higher the AQI value, the greater the level of pollution and harmful health impacts.

AQI Values Levels of Health Concern
0 to 50
Good
Air quality is considered satisfactory, and air pollution poses little or no risk.
51 to 100
Moderate
Air quality is acceptable; however, for some pollutants there may be a moderate health concern for a very small number of people who are unusually sensitive to air pollution.
101 to 150
Unhealthy for Sensitive Groups
Members of sensitive groups may experience health effects. The general public is not likely to be affected.
151 to 200
Unhealthy
Everyone may begin to experience health effects; members of sensitive groups may experience more serious health effects.
201 to 300
Very Unhealthy
Health warnings of emergency conditions. The entire population is more likely to be affected.
301 to 500
Hazardous
Health alert: everyone may experience more serious health effects

The AQI value is calculated from 6 major air pollutants which are ground-level ozone, particulate matter (PM2.5 and PM10), carbon monoxide, nitrogen dioxide and sulphur dioxide. The concentration of each of the pollutants is measured several times per minute. This raw data is the converted into one AQI value using the specifications developed by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency ( Details (pdf) ).

Pollutants

Warning. As the humidity is high, the measurements for particulate matter might be inaccurate.

PARTICULATE MATTER
PM2.5: – µg/m3

Particulate matter (PM) is the term for a mixture of solid particles and liquid droplets found in the air. PM2.5 are fine inhalable particles, with diameters that are generally 2.5 micrometers and smaller.

PARTICULATE MATTER
PM10:  – µg/m3

Particulate matter (PM) is both directly emitted to the atmosphere and formed in the atmosphere. PM10 are inhalable particles, with diameters that are generally 10 micrometers and smaller.

SULPHUR DIOXIDE
SO2– µg/m3

Sulphur Dioxide (SO2) is a colorless gas with a sharp odor. It is produced from the burning of fossil fuels (coal and oil) and the smelting of mineral ores that contain sulphur.

NITROGEN DIOXIDE
NO2: – µg/m3

Nitrogen Dioxide (NO2) the main source of nitrate aerosols, which form an important fraction of PM2.5 and, in the presence of ultraviolet light, ozone. At short-term concentrations exceeding 200 μg per m3, it is a toxic gas which causes significant inflammation of the airways. Its major sources of anthropogenic emissions are combustion processes (heating by open fire burning, power generation, and engines in vehicles and ships).

OZONE
O3– µg/m3

Ozone (O3) at ground level – not to be confused with the ozone layer in the upper atmosphere – is one of the major constituents of photochemical smog. It is formed by the reaction with sunlight (photochemical reaction) of pollutants from vehicle and industry emissions such as nitrogen oxides (NOx) and volatile organic compounds (VOCs). As a result, the highest levels of ozone pollution occur during periods of sunny weather.

CARBON MONOXIDE
CO: – µg/m3

CO is a colorless, odorless gas that can be harmful when inhaled in large amounts. CO is released when something is burned. Breathing air with a high concentration of CO reduces the amount of oxygen that can be transported in the blood stream to critical organs like the heart and brain.

Air Pollution Affects Your Health

Elevated levels and/or long-term exposure to air pollution can lead to serious symptoms and conditions affecting human health. This mainly affects the respiratory and inflammatory systems but can also lead to more serious conditions such as heart disease and cancer. According to WHO, air pollution is estimated to be the world’s leading environmental cause of premature deaths. In addition, air pollution increases the incidence of a wide range of diseases (e.g. respiratory and cardiovascular diseases and cancer), with both long and short‑term health effects.

Children are the most vulnerable group to air pollution. According to the UNICEF study “Clear the air for children“ from 2016, air pollution is linked with diseases and infections that kill around 600,000 children under 5 years of age per year. Air pollution threatens children’s lungs and can cause respiratory illnesses. Pollutants can cross the blood-brain barrier and can cause permanent damage of the brain. This reduces the children‘s ability to learn, and decreases their ability to perform mental tasks. An increase of asthma and respiratory diseases also can lead to an increase of missed days of school.

Additional Impacts of Air Pollution

ECOSYSTEM

Air pollution has several important environmental impacts and may directly affect vegetation as well as the quality of water, soil and the ecosystem services that they support. The most harmful air pollutants in terms of damage to ecosystems are O3, ammonia (NH3) and NOx. For example, ground-level O3 damages agricultural crops, forests and plants by reducing their growth rates. Other pollutants, such as nitrogen oxides (a family of gases collectively known as NOx), SO2 and ammonia (NH3) contribute to acidification of soil, lakes and rivers, causing loss of animal and plant life. In addition to causing acidification, NH3 and NOx emissions also disrupt land and aquatic ecosystems by introducing excessive amounts of nutrient nitrogen. This gives rise to eutrophication, which is an oversupply of nutrients that can lead to changes in species diversity and to invasions of new species.

CLIMATE CHANGE

Several air pollutants are also climate forcers, which have a potential impact on the planet’s climate and global warming in short-term (i.e. decades). Tropospheric O3 and black carbon (BC), a constituent of PM, are examples of air pollutants that are shortlived climate forcers and that contribute directly to global warming. Other PM components, such as organic carbon, ammonium (NH4), sulphate (SO4) and nitrate (NO3), have a cooling effect. Actions to cut down BC emissions, along with those of other pollutants that cause tropospheric O3 formation such as methane (CH4) which is a greenhouse gas (GHG) itself, will help to reduce health and ecosystem impacts and the extent of global climate warming. Air quality and climate change should therefore be tackled together by policies and measures that have been developed through an integrated approach.

Sources of Air Pollution

Industrial emissions like fuel combustion and process emissions.

Vehicle emissions are caused by exhaust, brake, fuel evaporation but also road wear and tear.

In households, cooking with charcoal, burning waste, and lighting add to air pollution.

Power plants combust coal, oil, biomass, or waste.

Construction activities pollute air due to the operation of diesel engines, demolition, burning, and working with toxic materials. Furthermore, construction sites generate dust.

Agricultural emissions derive from chemical fertilizers and animal waste that combine with pollutants of combustion. The burning of agricultural waste also contributes to air pollution.

Air pollution does not stop at national borders. Emissions that originate in one country can cause damage in another country‘s environment. Pollution can be transported across hundreds and even thousands of kilometers.

Air pollution does not stop at national borders. Emissions that originate in one country can cause damage in another country‘s environment. Pollution can be transported across hundreds and even thousands of kilometers.

The Monitoring Station

The German Embassy uses the Bosch Climo Technology to monitor the air quality at its premise. The monitoring station measures environmental data and the key air pollutants particulate matter, carbon monoxide, nitric oxide, nitrogen dioxide, sulphur dioxide and ozone.

Luftqualität

an der

Deutschen Botschaft Hanoi

Luftqualitätsindex
...
Lade.

Wegen hoher Luftfeuchtigkeit können die Messungen ungenau sein. Der Luftqualitätsindex wird nicht angezeigt.

Aktualisiert am:

Luftfeuchtigkeit:

Temperatur:

Aktueller Luftqualitätsindex, wenn die Luft für die nächsten 24 Stunden im Mittel so bleibt.

Luftqualitätsindex

Der Luftqualitätsindex (Air Quality Index, AQI), informiert über die aktuellen Luftwerte und ihre gesundheitlichen Auswirkungen. Je höher der AQI-Wert, umso höher der Verschmutzungsgrad und die Gesundheitsgefährdung.

AQI Wert Gesundheitsauswirkungen
0 bis 50
Gut
Die Luftqualität ist ausreichend gut und die Luftverschmutzung stellt ein geringes oder kein Risiko dar.
51 bis 100
Moderat
Die Luftqualität ist insgesamt akzeptabel, bei manchen Schadstoffen besteht jedoch eventuell ein geringes Gesundheitsrisiko für einen sehr kleinen Personenkreis, der sehr empfindlich auf Luftverschmutzung ist.
101 bis 150
Ungesund für empfindliche Personengruppen
Bei Mitgliedern von empfindlichen Personengruppen können gesundheitliche Auswirkungen auftreten. Die allgemeine Öffentlichkeit ist wahrscheinlich nicht betroffen.
151 bis 200
Ungesund
Erste gesundheitliche Auswirkungen können sich bei allen Personen einstellen. Bei empfindlichen Personengruppen können ernstere gesundheitliche Auswirkungen auftreten.
201 bis 300
Sehr Ungesund
Gesundheitswarnung aufgrund einer Notfallsituation. Die gesamte Bevölkerung ist voraussichtlich betroffen.
301 to 500
Gefährlich
Gesundheitsalarm: Jeder muss mit dem Auftreten ernsterer Gesundheitsschäden rechnen.

Der AQI-Wert wird aus den Messergebnissen der sechs Hauptverunreinigungen bestimmt: bodennahes Ozon, Feinstaub (PM2.5 und PM10), Kohlenmonoxid, sowie Stickstoff- und Schwefeldioxid. Die Konzentration jedes einzelnen Schadstoffs wird mehrmals pro Minute gemessen und anhand der Vorschriften der amerikanischen Umweltschutzbehörde (EPA) in den AQI-Wert umgerechnet ( Details (pdf) ).

Schadstoffe

Warnung, wegen hoher Luftfeuchtigkeit können die Messungen ungenau sein.

Feinstaub
PM2.5: – µg/m3

Feinstaub, im englischen “Particular Matter” (PM), ist die Bezeichnung für eine Mischung aus festen Partikeln und flüssigen Tropfen, die in der Luft gefunden werden. PM2.5 sind feine inhalierbare Partikel mit Durchmessern, die im Allgemeinen 2,5 Mikrometer und kleiner sind.

Feinstaub
PM10: – µg/m3

Feinstaub (PM) wird sowohl direkt in die Atmosphäre emittiert als auch in der Atmosphäre gebildet. PM10 sind inhalierbare Partikel mit Durchmessern, die im Allgemeinen 10 Mikrometer und kleiner sind.

Schwefeldioxid
SO2: – µg/m3

Schwefeldioxid (SO2) ist ein farbloses Gas mit einem scharfen Geruch. Er entsteht bei der Verbrennung fossiler Brennstoffe (Kohle und Öl) und dem Schmelzen von mineralischen Erzen die Schwefel enthalten.

Stickstoffdioxid
NO2: – µg/m3

Stickstoffdioxid (NO2) ist die Hauptquelle von Nitrat-Aerosolen, die eine wichtige Fraktion von PM2.5 und in Gegenwart von ultraviolettem Licht sogar Ozon bilden. Bei Kurzzeitkonzentrationen über 200 μg pro m³ handelt es sich um ein toxisches Gas, das eine signifikante Entzündung der Atemwege verursachen kann. Die Hauptquellen anthropogener Emissionen sind Verbrennungsprozesse (Erwärmung durch offenes Feuer, Stromerzeugung und Motoren in Fahrzeugen und Schiffen).

Ozon
O3: – µg/m3

Das Ozon (O3) am Boden – nicht zu verwechseln mit der Ozonschicht in der oberen Atmosphäre – ist einer der Hauptbestandteile des photochemischen Smogs. Es entsteht durch die Reaktion mit Sonnenlicht (photochemische Reaktion) von Schadstoffen aus Fahrzeug- und Industrieemissionen wie Stickoxiden (NOx) und explosiven organischen Verbindungen (VOCs). Die Folge ist, dass die höchste Ozonbelastung bei sonnigem Wetter auftritt.

Kohlenmonoxid
CO: – µg/m3

CO ist ein farbloses, geruchloses Gas, das beim Einatmen großer Mengen schädlich sein kann. CO wird freigesetzt, wenn etwas verbrannt wird. Atemluft mit einer hohen Konzentration von CO reduziert die Menge an Sauerstoff, welche in den Blutstrom zu kritischen Organen wie Herz und Gehrin transportiert werden kann.

Auswirkungen der Luftverschmutzung auf die Gesundheit

Erhöhte Werte und/oder langfristige Belastung durch Luftverschmutzung führen zu Krankheitserscheinungen, die zu Entzündungserkrankungen und Störungen im Atemsystem führen können. Darüber hinaus kann es zu lebensbedrohlichen Erkrankungen wie Herzerkrankungen und Krebs kommen. Gemäß der WHO ist Luftverschmutzung die häufigste umweltbedingte Ursache für einen frühzeitigen Tod. Zusätzlich steigt das Aufkommen von kurz- und langfristigen Krankheiten, wie z.B. Atem- und Herzkreislaufbeschwerden sowie Krebs.

 

Kinder stellen die gefährdetste Risikogruppe dar. Laut dem UNICEF-Report “Clean the Air for Children” (2016) ist Luftverschmutzung eine der Hauptursachen für den Tod von circa 600.000 Kindern unter fünf Jahren jährlich. Die Schadstoffe schädigen die Lungen von Kindern und führen zu Atemwegserkrankungen. Verunreinigungen der Luft können die Blut-Hirn-Schranke von Kindern überschreiten und dauerhafte Schäden am Gehirn verursachen. Dies reduziert die Leistungsfähigkeit und Konzentration von Kindern. Vermehrtes Auftreten von Asthma und Atemwegserkrankungen erhöht die Fehltage an den Schulen.

Zusätzliche Auswirkungen der Luftverschmutzung

Ökosystem

Luftverschmutzung hat zahlreiche Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt und kann die Vegetation sowie die Qualität von Wasser, Boden und Ökosystemen, direkt beeinflussen. Bodenozon schädigt landwirtschaftliche Ernten, Wälder, und Pflanzen, indem es deren Wachstumsraten verringert. Andere Schadstoffe, wie Stickoxide, SO2 und Ammoniak tragen zu Versauerung von Böden, Seen und Flüssen bei, was zu einem Verlust an Tier- und Pflanzenleben führt. Die Emissionen von Ammoniak und Stickoxiden verursachen nicht nur eine Versauerung, sondern stören auch die Land- und Wasserökosysteme, indem sie übermäßig viel Nährstoffstickstoff zuführen

Klimawandel

Luftschadstoffe können das globale Klima beeinflussen. Troposphärisches Ozon und schwarzer Kohlenstoff, ein Bestandteil des Feinstaubs, sind kurzlebige Klimafaktoren, die direkt zur globalen Erwärmung beitragen. Andere Schadstoffe, wie organischer Kohlenstoff, Ammonium, Sulfat und Nitrat haben eine kühlende Wirkung. Luftqualität und Klimawandel sollten daher gemeinsam durch Strategien und Maßnahmen in Angriff genommen werden, die im Rahmen eines integrierten Ansatzes entwickelt wurden.

Hauptursachen der Luftverschmutzung

Industrieemissionen wie Treibstoffverbrennung und sogenannte Prozessemissionen, die z.B. bei der Herstellung von Zement oder Stahl entstehen.

Kraftfahrzeugemissionen, die durch Abgase, Straßenabnutzung und Treibstoffverbrennung entstehen.

In Haushalten tragen das Kochen mit Holzkohle, das Verbrennen von Müll und die Beleuchtung zur Luftverschmutzung bei.

Die Energieerzeugung ist durch die Verbrennung von Kohle, Öl, Biomasse und Müll ein großer Verursacher von Luftverschmutzung.

Bautätigkeiten erzeugen nicht nur große Mengen an Staub, sondern tragen auch durch Dieselmotoren, Rückbau, Verbrennungen und durch das Arbeiten mit gifthaltigen Materialien zur Luftverschmutzung bei.

Landwirtschaftliche Emissionen werden durch chemische Düngemittel und tierische Abfälle erzeugt, die sich mit den Verbrennungsschadstoffen verbinden. Das Verbrennen von landwirtschaftlichen Abfällen trägt ebenso zur Luftverschmutzung bei.

Luftverschmutzung kennt keine Ländergrenzen. Emissionen, die in einem Land entstehen können auch in angrenzenden Ländern Umwelt- und Gesundheitsschäden anrichten. Verunreinigungen können bis zu tausenden von Kilometern transportiert werden.

Die Messstation

Die Deutsche Botschaft Hanoi nutzt das BOSCH CLIMO Messstation aufgrund der einfachen Installation und der minimalen Wartungsansprüche. Die Messstation misst die Freinstaubbelastung in der Luft, den Kohlenmonoxidgehalt, Stickstoffmonoxide und -dioxide, Schwefeldioxide und Ozon.